Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think this might be a one time fee for Uber, not drivers?

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) -- Regulations on smartphone-based ride-sharing service companies in North Carolina are making their way further through the legislature with continued support of the industry's current leader, Uber.

The House Transportation Committee on Tuesday backed a Senate bill setting minimum standards for background checks of potential drivers and company liability coverage on private cars as they transport customers or wait for jobs.

Ride-hailing services such as Uber, Lyft and Sidecar would have to pay $5,000 annual state permit fees. There are also rules for companies who want to use local airports.

Uber's general manager in North Carolina spoke for the rules, which she says will help both consumers seeking rides and potential company drivers.

The bill already passed the Senate. The measure next goes to the House Finance Committee.

http://www.wlos.com/template/inews_wire/wires.regional.nc/2c4ef691-www.wlos.com.shtml
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
A $5000 permit would be an impossible and/or impractical barrier for ride-share drivers.

Before legislators pass this type of requirement, they should consider how many potential drunk drivers we get home safely each night. I suspect if the statistics are looked at carefully, every market that Uber serves will see a dramatic decrease in injuries and deathes do to intoxicated drivers.
By driving at night I know at least 60% of my fares would be a serious hazard at the wheel and there is no way the existing taxis could service that many passengers.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,736 Posts
Can't open the link, but are you sure they don't mean that Uber/Lyft will each pay the $5000 fee?

I seriously doubt they'd make each driver pay a fee like that...


EDIT: I think that's the same point chi1cabby is getting at.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
17 Posts
If I understand this article correctly, the fee and the burden of the additional insurance will be the responsibility of the company (Uber, lyft, etc..)
Representatives from Uber helped to craft the bill and supports it.
If this does extend better insurance coverage to the partners, it would certainly be a step in the right direction and I'd support it. I also have no problem with a more stringent background check.

http://www.newsobserver.com/news/po...mns-blogs/under-the-dome/article28355131.html
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
196 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
If I understand this article correctly, the fee and the burden of the additional insurance will be the responsibility of the company (Uber, lyft, etc..)
I kind of had that realization after I had posted and couldn't change the title, but still, $5000 for the whole state from uber\lyft seems very low so it still left me wondering. ... They collect that much from convicting one or two drunk drivers.

Honestly, I quit driving after I did my taxes and realized I was losing money considering what I was doing to my car. I can't afford to replace my car on Asheville uber wages, plus, ....the only way to make money around here is to service the graveyard\weekend bar shift and with all the traffic stops they have around here, you never know when a cop having a bad night is going to find a reason to write you up. I got pulled over once and the policeman only seemed to be concerned if I bought the car for the job only and would have needed commercial plates. In any case, all the costs and risks all fall on the driver. As time goes by the pay goes down while the risk goes up and in the end it didn't seem worth it to me. 5k from each driver would be a deal killer for everybody.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
181 Posts
I think this might be a one time fee for Uber, not drivers?

RALEIGH, N.C. (AP) -- Regulations on smartphone-based ride-sharing service companies in North Carolina are making their way further through the legislature with continued support of the industry's current leader, Uber.

The House Transportation Committee on Tuesday backed a Senate bill setting minimum standards for background checks of potential drivers and company liability coverage on private cars as they transport customers or wait for jobs.

Ride-hailing services such as Uber, Lyft and Sidecar would have to pay $5,000 annual state permit fees. There are also rules for companies who want to use local airports.

Uber's general manager in North Carolina spoke for the rules, which she says will help both consumers seeking rides and potential company drivers.

The bill already passed the Senate. The measure next goes to the House Finance Committee.

http://www.wlos.com/template/inews_wire/wires.regional.nc/2c4ef691-www.wlos.com.shtml
The $5000.00 per year is a fee that Uber would have to pay, not the drivers.
 
1 - 7 of 7 Posts
Top