Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read all the hate on uber about pay and expenses.i now have 2 nights driving short term. First night drove 57 miles tonight drove 47 miles. That's 3.5 gallons gas. Let's say 12 dollars in gas. My earnings are 175.minus 12 is 163. Let's call it 80 a night. The question is do I count my 30 to 1 hour of breaks as work. I really only drove 3 hours a night.it looks like 25 to 30 an hour and I'm a rookie. Once I learn the surge and how to get around better I should do better. I don't see doing this for 1 dollar a mile. To much headache for those wages.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Have you accounted for SELF EMPLOYMENT TAX, depreciation on you vehicle, risk, insurance (I hope you have commercial driver's insurance)....Uber's fees?? You're not making what you think you are. You're probably NETTING (actual take home pay) closer to $10 or $12 per hour.

·
Registered
621 Posts
There has been alot of debate on these forums as to how much per mile it takes to operate a motor vehicle. Depending on the car, location, driving habits etc, I've seen values from $0.25 to $0.60 per mile. You do need to account from fuel, maintenance, depreciation, insurance, car payment if applicable etc. Once you calculate your own per mile expenses, you need to account for EVERY mile you drive, even the ones with no passengers. These miles are often referred to as "dead" miles. I would be willing to bet that your actual earnings are at or below minimum wage.

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Have you accounted for SELF EMPLOYMENT TAX, depreciation on you vehicle, risk, insurance (I hope you have commercial driver's insurance)....Uber's fees?? You're not making what you think you are. You're probably NETTING (actual take home pay) closer to $10 or $12 per hour.