Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
Like the title says I'm a complete noob from Simsbury, very close to Hartford. Looking to make a bit of spare cash on the side by giving this a try! I work for a large Life Insurance company in Springfield so I make that commute daily, about 75 miles give or take. Yet to take my first rider but eager to learn more about Uber! I have a 2005 SAAB 9-3 turbo...not the biggest car but it's great on gas and has a big trunk haha.
I'm lifelong Sox and Pats fan, married with a 10 month old daughter and enjoy cooking, wine, road biking, brewing beer and of course driving!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! Well, if by approved it means my registration/insurance, etc. has been submitted and approved then I would say yes unless I'm missing something :) Per the Connecticut Uber website:

The vehicle must:
-Be a 2003 or newer
-Have 4 doors and seat at least 4 passengers
-Be in excellent condition
-Have private plates

·
Registered
398 Posts
Drive somewhere other than Hartford county. It's the only place in Ct where they dropped the rate from 1.50/mile to 1.10/mile about 2 weeks ago. The only good thing about the lower rate is tax time, when you account for all miles driven (both dead miles and with a pax) you are almost guaranteed to show a business income loss at year's end.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the advice. No, have not yet picked up a rider...waiting to discuss with my insurance company who as of 9/3 will start offering a hybrid policy to cover Uber, Lyft and other services. Figured it was better to make sure all my bases are covered.

·
Registered
13 Posts
The Simsbury market exists; I received 2 pick up requests from there late last night. However, the 20-25 minute drive to the pick up location(s) was not happening pro bono! I have to believe that I wasn't first driver to "not accept".

·
Registered
8 Posts