Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
On a few occasions I've taken five passengers 2 adults 3 kids under the age of 7 maybe even 5. Illinois law requires young children to wear seatbelt younger children to be in a child safety seat. They were going from a grocery store to a restaurant few blocks away.

The most recent incident took place just a few nights ago when I took a woman and child home from the babysitter without a child safety seat she held the child on her lap which is against the law.

As a driver I'm considering keeping a child safety seat in my trunk for these occasions. In a serious accident where seatbelts are useless in protecting passengers maybe the child safety seat will save a life.

Reactions: MarkR

·
Registered
3,647 Posts
As an independent driver it is up to you as Uber can't see what every pax looks like they rely on drivers to make the right decision. I have on a few occasions turned down rides because they have small children and no child seats, turn them down if there are more riders than seatbelts or any thing else I deem a safety issue.

·
Registered
311 Posts
On a few occasions I've taken five passengers 2 adults 3 kids under the age of 7 maybe even 5. Illinois law requires young children to wear seatbelt younger children to be in a child safety seat. They were going from a grocery store to a restaurant few blocks away.

The most recent incident took place just a few nights ago when I took a woman and child home from the babysitter without a child safety seat she held the child on her lap which is against the law.

As a driver I'm considering keeping a child safety seat in my trunk for these occasions. In a serious accident where seatbelts are useless in protecting passengers maybe the child safety seat will save a life.
dont tie up trunk space with a child seat. it's not your responsibility. just cancel the call.

·
Premium Member
2,903 Posts