Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
163 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Was looking into information about how to do my uber taxes and came across this.

https://triplogmileage.com/IRS-Uber-tax-deduction.html

I downloaded the app and it appears to be working fine. My question is, has anyone else used this? If so, do you recommend it? what do I do with the information provided by that app? "I'm new at taxes" and don't know if the app is actually good at all because I don't know if the information provided by it is useful.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Just record the mileage when you first turn on the app and the mileage when you sign off. I'm not familiar with the app. Just get your mileage total for each day worked.

·
Registered
8 Posts
A mileage log (if audited) is far more than just listing the mileage. Apps are great but a simple notebook works great. Email me and I will send you a proper mileage log for UBER drivers (FREE). It's all fun and games until you receive an audit letter.

Why in the world would you want to prepare your own taxes? Why risk an audit? Why are you not focusing on growing your business? Taking a loss (while legal) on a schedule C will increase your chance of an audit dramatically. You better have all your i's dotted and t's crossed. You have so many great tax options like possibly depreciating your vehicle OR setting up your own retirement plan OR getting advice that will help you plan for the future. Is it really a good idea to reduce all your earnings down to nothing just to get a refund OR not pay taxes? If you have the legit deductions then OK but one day you will apply for social security and receive $200 a month instead of $3000 a month. Work hard but smart. Hire a professional that knows your industry and can guide you into the future.