Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
I have driven for totalride. I am still an eligible driver but have not turned on the app in months. When I first went I had high hopes for them as a competitor to Uber and Lyft. However the clientele is much different from Uber/Lyft. Lots of short ride pickups at Walmart, shopping centers, etc. Also people wanting a ride to a store a mile away from their home, want you to wait while they go in, and then take them back home.

They charge $1.30 a mile, and pay drivers 73%, so it is almost 95 cents a mile compared to 71 for U/L. You also receive more per minute, 21 cents vs. U/L 7 cents. There is no pay for wait time or no shows. There are no surges. They offer cash and in car credit card, but the driver has to pay the credit card fees, another 3%. If you take a passenger and they stiff you, in addition to giving a free ride, you still have to pay the commission to totalride. They also pay daily, you get paid the next day.
Their rates: $3.00 booking fee + $1.30/mile + $0.30/minute, $7.00 minimum fare. Drivers earn 73% revenue share, less the booking fee

Their app is difficult to use. It's not clear what their insurance coverage is, possible similar to U/L, but maybe not.

I had a situation on a cash ride that involved domestic violence and police involvement. I feel that is much less likely with U/L, and that is when i stopped driving for them.

They also have voucher rides that pay a fixed rate, $1.15 per mile for the shortest distance, regardless of the route you take or the route that navigation takes you. Navigation is usually least time so it is not always the shortest distance. No tips permitted on voucher rides.

For Van/XL they charge $10.00 more, I presume driver share of $7.30 per ride. Although I have a van I had never received a request for a van.

·
Premium Member
1,114 Posts