Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello guys I've been ubering for only 3 months and I was just wondering if we should get a commercial insurance since we don't know when we gonna have an accident and hoping we won't get any. I've heard our personal insurance company will kick us out if they knew we're using our car for business like taxi, uber etc... Any opinions, suggestions, help will be appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
14 Posts
Hi there,

Well, I am in Massachusetts, so I don't know CA laws. But if I were you, I would contact your state Division of Insurance or an equivalent. Also call your state's insurance agent association. These folks are aware of the industry and how Uber fits into it for your state. (And I don't know if you have different laws for different parts of the state) If the state agency and the insurance association don't have the answers you need, ask them who would.

I will tell you that Uber lied straight up to me, said I didn't need commercial insurance to drive in MA. They were dead wrong. And I drove for them for a month before I realized there was any problem, through reading about folks concerns here on this discussion forum. Thank God I didn't have any incidents, and I stopped immediately while I figure out a solution.

You probably know that if you tell your insurance agent and/or company that you are driving for Uber, they will likely cancel you at your next renewal date, if not sooner. So best to ask around anonymously. And between you and me, I wouldn't continue to drive while doing so illegally. I know plenty of drivers are doing it, but it is a risk I am not willing to take.

Hope that's helpful.

·
Registered
844 Posts