Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new driver, for the past three weeks, and I thought I would ask a few questions. First of all I was never told I could have my car impounded and fined 250.00 for picking up a fair at Jax international Airport.

Ratings.
Yesterday I had a 4.61 I drove last night had good fairs and this morning I have 4.48 after a night of good fairs and tips yet I see no reviews from last nights fairs. I know one customer was very happy as others.

I accepted a fair 18 min away when I got there they cancelled I was told you cannot cancel after 5 min.

Unsafe Driving report a idiot almost broadsided me not my fault yet the fair sends in a report. Is this a contestable.

Finally if you have low ratings do the they suspend you, and can you look at individual fairs ratings, and thanks for the help.

·
Registered
76 Posts
Welcome aboard Dennis.

UBER will rarely give you information of any kind, unless it is in their best interest to do so. By intentionally keeping things vague they keep their options open.

For example, if they were up front with people about the possibility of their car being impounded (or any of the countless other negative realities of driving for UBER) many potential drivers might decide not to sign up. That would not be in UBER's best interest.

On the plus side, and there are many of those as well, UBER understands the learning curve involved with new drivers. Unless something egregious happens, they won't give you too much flak during your first 100 (or so) rated trips. Like a hitter in baseball, your average will tend to fluctuate wildly in the beginning and less so as time goes on. Once you complete 500 rated trips, your rating is only based on the last 500.

Keep in mind that your rating is the average number of stars given by the riders who chose to rate you. While drivers must rate riders before they can receive the next ping, riders are under no obligation to rate the driver.