Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Guys,

I am a new driver in Prince George's county and I have been lurking on the threads here. It is hard to talk to someone and I have visited Uber in person once, but I still would like to get some experienced feedback on a few remaining questions.

1. I have an out of state registration and license and was told that I can only pick up in Maryland and Virginia. I was also told that I have to get a Virginia inspection. Is this accurate? If I don't plan to ever pick up in Virginia do I still have to get the VA inspection?

2. I signed up through a driver referral and now Uber is telling me that the person who referred you gets the bonus but the new driver doesn't receive anything. Insight?

3. As stated before I live in Prince George's County, what are some good areas, days/times to scout? Either in the county or otherwise? I've only been driving for about 3 days and I'm not entirely sure I'm doing this thing correctly so any advice is needed?

Basically I'm VERY NEW and could use any/all advice that is appropriate to share :)

Thanks!!

·
25,803 Posts
1. The District of Columbia requires that TNC vehicles have licence plates from D.C., Maryland or Vriginia. The driver must have a licence from one of those jurisdictions, as well. That is why you will not be able to pick up in the District of Columbia. Maryland and Virginia (and D.C., for that matter) require a safety inspection for all TNC vehicles. Each jurisdiction in question will accept an inspection from another jurisdiction in question. Uber seems to prefer the Virginia inspection. There used to be a few places that would do it and bill Uber for the cost, but I do not know if that still obtains. Check with Uber on that one.