Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Registered
47 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am an ex Vietnam Navy Pilot Instructor. I talked with a Cmdr today and told him who was preventing Uber drivers from entering the base. It is the Base Commander, the CO. He is concerned about getting and thinks taxi drivers are better vetted. I explained to the Cmdr that every Uber driver is vetted and probably more so than taxi drivers. The Cmdr will talk with the CO to try and get this opened. We need a follow up in a few weeks. Ins might come up.....

·
Registered
1 Posts
I'm active navy retired and have access to the base. Do I have to state I'm going on an Uber run at the gate if I do so?

·
Registered
33 Posts
I have been on and off DOD installations and as long as everyone in the car has a valid military ID we have never had any issues. Of course I did not tell them I was doing an über run.

·
Registered
13 Posts
I'm retired Air Force and use my ID to gain base entry. If I'm bringing riders onto Eglin or Hurlburt, I make sure the sentry sees everyone's ID. I've had no problems.

·
Premium Member
285 Posts
Jamesh sez:
Uber driver is vetted and probably more so than taxi drivers.
HAHAHAHAHAH! What planet do *you* live on? Are you serious? We'll get to that bit of lunacy in a moment.

Meantime... as of 1Feb2016 the Navy has stopped allowing civilians on NAS Pensacola...*except* to go to the museum and lighthouse. Retired and/or former military personnel still *can* get on base if they have a current, valid military ID, but they better not let the gate guard know they're working for Uber! And if a legitimate taxi spots an Uber car on base, you can be sure that a phone call *will* be made to Base Security. Better take down those "trade dress" stickers!