Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 94 Posts

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Got a ping just 3 min away. After picking him up I learned he had just gotten out of jail! (Ohhh boy, what did I just get myself into?) I was cool about it and he didn't seem to be an axe murderer or worse, but who knows?!? Anyway, I was nervous. He was in the back seat and was talking about where his impounded car was and complained he lost a day at work, etc. I think he sensed my feelings and was really nice and low keyed. I took him home and it was my best, longer trip of the day and on the interstate!
It could have ended much differently. As a female driver, I need to know how to protect myself... just in case. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
3,232 Posts
Step one;
Dont assume every convict wants you or wants to hurt you.

Step two;
Treat every one as an equal human, even convicts. Dont ever judge.

Step Three;
What you say, how you act and how you treat PAX, makes a difference when it comes to your safety. YMMV

Step four:
Direct your conversation away from negative triggers, that will make PAX think about crime, regardless what PAX did in the past. Talk about sports, politics, Trump is a hot topic.

Step Five:
Be fluid at all times with PAX when it comes to convos. Learn to direct PAX towards positivity by using subliminal messages.

Step six;
If the two of you are talking, ask neutral questions. Have PAX talk about something positive.

Step Seven;
Fake it if you must, by sympathizing with PAX.

If all fails, get out of the car and run. Dont forget to grab your cell phone with you.

·
Registered
108 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Step one;
Dont assume every convict wants you or wants to hurt you.

Step two;
Treat every one as an equal human, even convicts. Dont ever judge.

Step Three;
What you say, how you act and how you treat PAX, makes a difference when it comes to your safety. YMMV

Step four: