Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 90 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been driving for a couple months, and I've been hearing this more often lately. The passengers always say they are not supposed to tip which we all know is an intended misinterpretation set forth by uber.

what is your response to these comments without sounding like a greedy ******* to your passengers?

·
Registered
157 Posts
I've never heard this from any of my pax's but I don't bring up tipping as a topic. Seems a little odd they would if they weren't planning on it. I always say "I won't argue with someone who wants to tip, cause In the south, that's impolite". And I thank them.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
I had one of those rare pickups last night...

Wrong pin location...
Called at 1:30 left on timer...
First time user...

I found him and before the ride started, he handed me a tip and I saw that it was at least a $5. Minimum fare, much appreciated.
What surprised me was that he said before he requested, he did a quote and felt the amount wasn't adequate. We had a discussion during the $10 fare(XL) and I thanked him and told him "tips are always appreciated...even for a short ride. You can't do it through the app and thanks for recognizing the low fare."
I thought is was $6 or $10...when i got home, it was $15! He was probably 22.

·
Registered
553 Posts
Despite my 4.91 rating, I rarely get tips. I'm kind of fine with it because I knew the deal when I signed up. I expected uber to take better care of me as was advertised though.

Anyway, it's pretty common for a couple or a few friends to be in the back and one will pull out a couple of dollars to tip with. One of the others will immediately tell them that you don't tip with uber and make them put it away.

·
Registered
5,036 Posts
Despite my 4.91 rating, I rarely get tips. I'm kind of fine with it because I knew the deal when I signed up. I expected uber to take better care of me as was advertised though.