Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey There!

I starting driving for Uber last weekend and loved it. I moved to the area almost a year ago and haven't been out much to see the city or meet new people and figured this would be a good way to do it while making a little extra change. I've met some really incredible people...they don't tip....but still incredible. Last weekend I had a lot of riders in the downtown Raleigh Area. Drop offs. Driving at 2am and picking up drunk riders gives me anxiety. With the WWE event being in my residential area on Sunday evening, I really thought I'd get a lot of riders but I got zero going to the PNC Arena. Found that strange.

When in a high demand area, do you experienced drivers find it better to sit at your last drop off location until you receive another ping or do you drive around?

·
Registered
20 Posts
Hi SheUbers.

I'm a new driver myself (have yet to take any rides due to some insurance quibbles), but I'm glad to hear you're having a good experience so far. That makes me feel a lot more optimistic about getting started. I also don't know much of the area at all outside of Chapel Hill, despite the fact I've lived here for over 2 years now, so you aren't alone there!

When you say that driving at 2 AM and picking up drunkies gives you anxiety, does that mean that you haven't actually done that yet? That's a big concern from my perspective, too. I just bought this car I'm going to be driving with and I don't want it barfed in.

I'm not surprised that the WWE thing didn't pan out a lot of business. This might be judgmental on my part, but I don't get the sense that WWE fans are the type to take Uber.