Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

My name is Traci. I'm a nursing student and am just finishing the process of becoming a partner. I have been out of work for 3 months and am hoping to make enough with uber that I can continue to stay in school. If something doesn't turn around for me soon I'll have to quit and go back to corporate America. I worked on the ambulance for many years so driving with strangers isn't totally foreign to me, though most of my patients were headed for the ER, so it'll be different having a breathing and talking passenger. I am hoping to make friends with people locally who drive too, and maybe get some hints and tips or tricks. Please be gentle with me.

·
Registered
1,483 Posts
Hi, NursingStudent22.

Welcome to the forum!

Please read your Partnership Agreement.

New Drivers have 30 Days to Opt-out of Binding Arbitration.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

Traci,
Although I am not in Canada, I believe our insurance coverage by Uber maybe somewhat the same. I appreciate someone from Canada correcting me if what I know about insurance here in the States does not apply to Canada.

Uber insurance is commercial liability only. Should you be in an at-fault accident, Uber insurance (James River underwriter here in the States) will cover the expenses of your passengers, and that of the other driver(s) (medical, property). In no manner does the JR cover the driver for any expenses.

For your expenses you may need to purchase an Commercial Auto Policy (collision/comprehensive) to cover yourself while you are driving to pick up pax and transporting them to their destination.

The commercial auto policy should cover you (I have been told) during your personal driving also.

That leaves just personal liability that needs to be covered.