Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
555 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm a week old driver in Orange County, driving an 04 Accord ... v6 :(. I thought I'd share my numbers for the week.

Trips - 107
Fares (after uber-rape) - $630
Miles driven - 1077
Gas - $161
Fares (after uber and gas) - $470
Hours worked - 55
Hourly (before maintenance/depreciation) - $8.5 - fml
Rating -4.84
1 Star ratings received - At least one
Threating texts from uber about cancellations - 1
Belligerent voicemails from pax after receiving a (fair and legitimate) $5 no show fee - 1
Times pulled over -1 (a 'safe', illegal turn on red, no ticket received)

I drive mostly 6pm - 3 am. I rarely ACRO. I do know from these forums how not to ruin a surge, despite that, I have earned very little in surge fares. The biggest problem I have is lack of knowledge of hotspots. I rarely get pinged in surge areas because I'm not close enough to the real action. Any general advice (besides 'RUN') would be greatly appreciated.

A couple of questions. If I've been at the pin for 5 plus minutes , does 'cancel/rider entered wrong address' charge the pax the $5 cancellation fee? Basically, If a pax enters the wrong pin and then is unable to coherently explain where they are or give you an address and you use 'cancel/wrong address' then do you receive the cancellation fee? I know some here would suggest: go to pin, wait 5 mins, do nothing else, cancel/no show... but I know how wonky the pin drops are and I like to give the pax a reasonable chance. But at some point if the pax is literally unable to tell you where they are, then I'd like to get paid for my effort.

Also for tax purposes, I've been keeping track of all my miles used 'in pursuit of a fare'- driving with pax, driving to pax, driving to a hotspot/better spot (app on or off). I don't include the drive home/app off miles. Can anyone who has, in the past, filed with mileage deductions confirm that this acceptable?

·
Registered