Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I live in the east bay and have had nothing but awful nights and days. I have made a post here on the boards and now know that San Francisco is the only place to really drive... for the most part right?

The thing is Im so afraid of getting a ticket as I am a confident driver and a good driver but for sure NOT familiar driving in the city. I dont know about all the color coded curbs and signs that you ONLY see in the city. On Friday and Saturday nights I used to do well driving in the east bay but now thats gone. I was wondering if I would still do decent if I drove the late evening into the morning shift in San Fran and the surrounding areas? If I can still do good even though its overly saturated as I have read and now fully believe, I can tough it out with the ticket fear because I need to make money but Im afraid of getting some chicken shit ticket from a muni buss camera where I was in the wrong spot for 15 seconds driving off or waiting for a car.

Any quick help with this by chance or is it one of those things that I need to just go out there and learn where not to go?

Any help would be appreciated as I am apparently going to have to go there. There is no more money for me in the east bay.

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
The color coded curbs are the same across the entire state.

Avoid red curbs and bus stops - they're illegal to do pickups anywhere in the state btw, not just SF - and it's easy to get a ticket.

Yellow curbs you technically cannot do pickups or dropoffs at, but if the passenger is there waiting the risk is basically zero

White curbs you can do pickups and dropoffs and even wait up to 5 minutes.

Market street downtown has several blocks where it's not legal to do pickups. Call your passenger to get them to go to a side street.