Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm fairly new to Uber (200 rides), and one of the things that surprised me as a novice was how often riders did NOT rate my rides. I do my best to impress, and so this was frustrating for me, especially when you know that the riders who aren't happy are more likely to use the rating system.

So just this last week I thought I'd try something new: ask for a 5-star rating. Near the end of my trips, I started saying, "If you're happy with your ride, I'd sure appreciate a 5-star rating." This worked great for me, and I've seen my 5-star rating number go up twice or three times faster than before. It's a simple thing that really seems to work, and more times than not the riders have responded, "Absolutely!"

Thoughts? Other ideas?

·
Registered
45 Posts
I incorporate the asking for 5 stars in my signs that also let the passenger know to tip as well. It kills 2 birds with 1 stone. I have a 4.9 rating and get tips on about 50% of my rides.

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I incorporate the asking for 5 stars in my signs that also let the passenger know to tip as well. It kills 2 birds with 1 stone. I have a 4.9 rating and get tips on about 50% of my rides.
Would you mind sharing a pic of the signs you use and how you have them displayed? I've seen these on Amazon and eBay, but I was concerned they would come across as tacky to riders and have the reverse effect.

·
Premium Member
3,173 Posts
When pax bring up the subject of driving for Uber, I anyways try to school them on the star system and let them know that Uber considers 4 stars a failure.

I also lie a little and tell them they get rated too, and if they fall below 4.6 no one will pick them up.

·
Registered
45 Posts