Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,167 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Tipping Option is like "Freedom of Speech" to me.

It is my civil right to tip or not to tip, or how much I want to tip.

Today, I felt violated when I went to a restaurant in Hackensack, NJ. to be exact, it was at
BOHEMIA RESTAURANT 287 Main St, Hackensack, NJ - service was slow as 35 minutes late with my food. At one point, I was about to get up and leave the place but I said to myself: I am not going to complaint and I will be calm and patient. This is my first time at this place. I noticed the place is only about 20% of capacity. Quiet empty.

After my meal, which I did enjoy, they said Colombian food but actually tasted more like Mexican. It was OK. No big deal.

When I got the check, I noticed there was a 18% Tip added and imposed to my bill without my consent. I ask the server: Why they put 18% tip on the bill? He replied, "that is our rule here". Because, I questioned the tip percentage, he brought me a menu and on the front bottom, in small lettering, it said: "18% tip will be added to the bill over $20 dollars". I asked him, why you did not mentioned that before I order? I said, that is weir, what about if I want to give you more tip? He said, "NO, that is the way we charge here". In this particular restaurant the customer has NO option to change the tipping option (adding or deleting).

I felt violated that they are imposing such a rule to their customers. For sure, I will never go back there.

After a while I was thinking. That is a violation to my "CIVIL RIGHT". Tipping is like "FREEDOM OF SPEECH" It should not be RESTRICTED or IMPOSED. This is my FREE WILL and RIGHT if we want to tip or not, or how much I want to give as a tip. As it is a violation to restrict that free will. (Like UBER restriction or imposing tip to customers for Uber Taxi or Uber X).