Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie here in Austin. I do this part time and travel between Dallas, Austin and Houston for work and started uBering to make some (supposed) cash on the side. I enjoy helping people and good conversation so this seemed like a good fit. In Austin, though it has been a series of short rides that aren't worth it, and a few good ones as well.

Without going into too much details, my assessment is that I must avoid being near Downtown on late weekends and that I shouldn't pick up UT students most of the time.

My most common interaction:

"Hey, are you waiting for Uber?

Cool.

You're going to have to finish your beers before you get in my car.

Well, its against the law for you to shotgunning beers even as a passenger.

Where you going?

Oh just a block away? Awesome!"

I will be searching for advice on how to avoid the people too lazy to walk a block syndrome and how to screen passengers on the forum, but for now I thought I would ask.

Thanks.

·
Registered
3,772 Posts
Anyone from 15 to 25 years old is like you describe.
Short rides, bad ratings, always demanding and pushing the limits of what you can do for them. And they are cheap as cheap can be... They never tip. That $2.40 we take to accommodate them is a lot of money in their view.

·
Registered
10 Posts
can you see destination before starting ride? If not, are you suggesting you cancel ride after going to the pickup and starting the ride?

·
Registered
933 Posts
No you can't see the destination till you "START RIDE". In cases like this ask them where they are going before you start the ride. If it's so crappy you don't want to do it. Cancel and move on.

·
Registered
2,706 Posts
Avoid UT and downtown in general if you don't want $2 rides. Lyft minimum is $5, which is what Uber should be.
I am not a proponent of canceling after finding out the destination, but others are.

·
Registered
517 Posts