Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

Premium Member
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was told that most drivers quit driving Uber within the first year .. . .

Is that true?

I have been driving for 4 years ( yeah . . some would say I am a glutton for punishment. . .or maybe masochistic. . )

How long has everyone been driving.?

I know the recent pandemic may schew the numbers a little. . . and yes I agree that Uber is crappy towards its drivers ( I use to argue that point but you frigging heathens have pulled me over to your way of thinking. . .. .)

Premium Member
4 years, usually 20 hours a week. I drove very little during Covid lockdowns. I usually try to drive 10 hours on Saturday. Mostly I like it, with only a few complaints.

I use the ASU scholarship for a family member, so that鈥檚 a $15,000 a year benefit.

Premium Member
Four years as well. About ten hours a week. Beer and golf money. Easiest side gig I ever had. To do this full time? Hell no. When it gets annoying, I just call it a day. You can鈥檛 do that if it鈥檚 your livelihood.
I also drove for Uber for 4 years. Prior to that, I drove a cab for 12 years. I did it full-time.
After putting 40,000 miles on my new car (bought a brand new car only had 17 miles on it) in 9 months, and not making it (cheap fares mostly), Uber kept screwing me big time.
I was out there 7 days/nights a week. Uber would offer incentives, yeah right! If you do 60 trips you'll get 250.00 extra. Well, I played their game once. I completed 59 super short trips (Uber made more than me, on most of them, they knew exactly what they were doing). I was just trying to make my 60th trip to collect the 250.00 bonus. I was online for 12 hours and not 1 ping.
Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me.
As a side hustle, that's ok if you don't mind getting screwed over.
Your car, your rideshare insurance, your maintenance, your gas, your time.