Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all, I'm new to Uber! I've recently had my first full night of driving. I drove from 8p.m. - 11p.m. on a Friday night and had an overall good experience with about 10 rides! I do recall one ride where I was driving a group of 4 and their destination required me to take the highway. This was during surge pricing. With construction and detour signs ahead, I became confused and happened to miss my exit. I was rerouted a good extra mile or two down the highway. This was very unfortunate, and I panicked. I offered that I can end the trip immediately to avoid further charges, only if they were willing and capable of directing me to their destination. Surprisingly, they agreed and took the situation well. I wanted to know if anyone else had experienced missing a turn that had cost the rider valuable dollars? Is there is a way to refund a rider money? I intend on being focused and not letting a situation like this happen again, but I want to be prepared if something like this does happen!
Thanks! John

·
Registered
2,000 Posts
If it's my fault, I usually email support and have them deduct the miles. If it's due to accident or road conditions, they pay for it.

·
Registered
41 Posts
I'd not end the trip - just to ensure that insurance coverage remained in full force. Just inform your PAX that you missed a turn and you'll contact Uber immediately after the trip to have the trip adjusted to actual miles.

During a surge, don't end it early - that's when drivers actually can make a little money.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
If it's my fault, I usually email support and have them deduct the miles. If it's due to accident or road conditions, they pay for it.
Thanks for the response! I'm glad to hear that an email to support can deduct the miles charged to the rider due to my mistake.

·
Registered
2,000 Posts