Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys - I'm a relatively new driver, and a new member of this board. I heard about new MWAA regulations that were voted on yesterday and came here to see if there was any additional info, but couldn't find anything.

The important parts:
  • $4 fee for each trip to and from IAD and DCA - likely tacked onto the passenger.
  • Mandatory MWAA permits for TNC operators.
  • Time limit for TNC lot usage (60 minutes free, $3 for every 15 min after

From Washington Business Journal:
Under the new regulations, ride-hailing services will be allowed to drop off and receive passengers at the airports only if drivers hold a permit from MWAA. Rides to and from the airports would also be subject to a $4 fee, something that could be added to a passenger's bill.

Companies like Lyft and Uber would pay a one-time $5,000 fee per company for the new permit to operate on airport premises .
From Washington City Paper:
TNC drivers can now wait up to one hour in DWAs at both airports before being charged $3 for each additional 15 minutes they wait in them.
All of this takes effect November 1.

·
Premium Member
8,240 Posts
WOW
hopefully the passenger pays the $4,driver still should get part of that fee,but im sure they wont
MWAA permits? more big ass stickers to put on the window? probably costs to get that permit too jeesh
charging just to wait for $1/mile ride? $3 every 15min lol? you're going to break even after paying that and getting an average fare from the airport
total fail

Unless you're UberBlack and wait 60min or less
trolling for UberX airport rides just doesnt seem worth it
yall can have that

·
26,804 Posts
WTOP's website has an article on it, but as of the last time that I read it, the only thing that it mentions is the four dollar fee.

Dulles already has its set-aside yard for TNC drivers. National has not yet set aside a space.