Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
im a south jersey uber driver. Im planning takein a trip up to philadelphia to see how buissness goes, seems its always surge'ing in center city and south philly. Will I be able to go there (about a hour from me) and just simply go online and receive and accept rider request without a problem? will I even be able to receive request? Not sure how that works. I have Ben driveing uber for bout 6 months i have done ride all over different cities/counties within jersey state though. nothing out side the state. so I'm just not quite sure if it's A-OK I rather ask then to drive a hour and wait for a ping that never comes.

·
Premium Member
562 Posts
I took an airport ride once from EWR to Philly. I got a ping immediately and from what I hear the rates are higher; however, I heard you have to get a sticker to drive out there. Totally worth it though if you're going to be out there. But there may be more requirements. I just know I got pings and took several rides.

·
Registered
2,056 Posts
I took an airport ride once from EWR to Philly. I got a ping immediately and from what I hear the rates are higher; however, I heard you have to get a sticker to drive out there. Totally worth it though if you're going to be out there. But there may be more requirements. I just know I got pings and took several rides.
Same thing happened to me. Dropped a guy off in the Philly suburbs from EWR & immediately got a ping after. That never happens in NYC so I figured it was allowed, but I didn't take it.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Well nyc tlc license is required so I understand thats a no go. But philly isnt, I do have the sticker. just not sure if uber its self doesnt have requirements that we ok with them to drive in another state.

·
Premium Member
4,560 Posts
I was there a few weeks ago on Valentine's Day. Did rides there and in the Philly burbs.