Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a new Uber driver coming over from Lyft and I noticed that Uber would immediately charge me the $1.00 Safe Rider fee, then the $3.85 airport (SFO) fee. However, when I see my weekly statement, it looks like they gave that back to me for a net $0. Am I reading this correctly? If so, then their fees are just like Lyft then.

·
Registered
1,410 Posts
I've never been charged an airport fee so I can't really give you an answer for that. But as for the SRF, you will not be getting that back.

·
Premium Member
6,501 Posts
You do not get the SRF. I drive UberX and get 80% after the first dollar. For example: pax pays 6, I get 4.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I just don't understand my pay statements. It shows $1.00 SRF fare, then ($1.00) deduction, so that to me appears as a net $0.00. Is that how your pay statements look like?

·
Premium Member
6,501 Posts
Yes, it is a net zero, meaning you never get it until your 1099 has it and then you reduce your (on paper) earnings by it; it is never sent to your bank account. It is Uber math.

·
Premium Member
5,326 Posts
Uber keeps the SRF fee/tax right out of the "minimum fare" You don't get it back, and make sure you deduct it from your 1099 when you do your taxes!

You only get airport fees or tolls back when you pay them out of pocket or with your personal transponder... otherwise uber keeps it, again make sure you don't pay taxes on the gross fare figure.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
Uber doesn't charge the driver anything. They charge the rider for the whole thing, then pay the driver his share.

Some things like SRF are shown as positive and negative, so they cancel each other out.

There is no such thing as charging the driver a fee and paying it back later in the week.

·
Premium Member
1,291 Posts
I deduct $1.00 from every trip then take 20% from what is left and it matches UBERS totals.