Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
So, I am a new driver and it seems to me 80% of passengers aren't interested in conversation. Is this pretty normal? I ask how their day is going, make a generic statement about their pick up or drop off location, ask if their getting air, then leave the rest upto them. I don't make an attempt to keep conversation going. I don't ask any personal questions,(It's a ride, not a date) I normally turn on the radio to some generic hits station and turn it down low enough they can hear it, but it's not in their face. I guess I assumed people would be more talkative. I figure if they want to talk, they will and I will respond to keep conversation going, if not they won't... What's your conversation"routine"?

·
Registered
15,008 Posts
So, I am a new driver and it seems to me 80% of passengers aren't interested in conversation. Is this pretty normal? I ask how their day is going, make a generic statement about their pick up or drop off location, ask if their getting air and comfortable, then leave the rest upto them. I don't make an attempt to keep conversation going. I don't ask any personal questions,(It's a ride, not a date) I normally turn on the radio to some generic hits station and turn it down low enough they can hear it, but it's not in their face. I guess I assumed people would be more talkative. I figure if they want to talk, they will and I will respond to keep conversation going, if not they won't... What's your conversation"routine"?
You're already saying too much. If they want to talk, you'll know it. Let them take the lead.
A normal greet when they come in. Confirm destination. Then maybe a how's it going or how's you're day been?

Dont ask if they're comfortable. If you have air going a comfortable temp, they're fine. To me asking that seems like you're trying too hard.