Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
924 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This morning, Friday, I went online for a couple hours. There was barely any surge showing in Cleveland or the eastern suburbs on Uber when during the morning snowstorm and extreme cold temperatures. I picked up a woman with Lyft in Wickliffe and she said that the wait for a driver was so long for Uber that she actually downloaded Lyft to get a ride.

Does Uber really think that drivers are going to pick up people with non-surge during a snowstorm? Apparently yes. I went to Euclid where all of the apartments are and where there is a usual very high surge all morning long. Nothing. No surge just the app saying I am in a high demand area. LMAO. So straight from a passengers mouth it is obvious that Uber is not allowing for surge to occur but also making Uber riders wait extremely long times (+30 minutes). I explained to the woman that as an Uber driver I would never consider driving during rush hour in a snowstorm with extreme temperatures without a surge. I showed her the map of which the vast majority of Cleveland at 8am was white except for a couple of spots where it was 1.2 and 1.4.

Uber is going to obviously lose pax due to this but it is what it is. At first I wondered why so many drviers would be out in this weather picking up people for non-surge during morning rush hour so when the Lyft passenger told me the wait was so bad for Uber that she had to download Lyft, I understood.

Uber engineers in California/India may not be in-tune with extreme winter conditions in Cleveland but I sure as heck won't be on the road without a major surge. It is now 8:30am and I am looking at the Cleveland map. there are three spots throughout Cleveland showing surge, at a maximum of 1.4x. So the University Circle area that normally surges during rush hour suddenly has no surge. The Euclid apartment corridor on Lakeshore that is ALWAYS surging above a 2.0 is not showing any surge, etc..