Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok so I've been driving for 3 months now and it's obvious that you cannot turn a true profit at 68/75 cents/mile on uberx. There is just no way, your operating and maintenance costs will catch up to you eventually.

The only way to make good money driving uberx is to get surge rates of 1.6x and higher. Uber is based on supply and demand. So drivers, TURN OFF YOUR APP IN AREAS KNOWN TO SURGE! The less drivers Uber thinks is in an area, the more likely it will surge. Once the surge hits, go online and get a fare worth driving for.

All you drivers riding around for .75/mile will be happier getting 1.25-$3/ mile for the same rides...

I try my best not to do uberx rides unless it's a surge. Any non-surge rides I do accept get a 1-3star rating if they do not tip, a 4 star if they are really nice people that don't tip. 5 stars are only reserved for riders that tip. I also give my Lyft promo code to as many uber passengers as I can, make an extra 30-50 a week.

·
Registered
1,186 Posts
This is a great idea in theory but turn on the rider app and take a look. How many cars do you see in just one area? There are too many drivers and no one knows anything about what the others are doing. How are you supposed to create a synchronized shutting off of apps in this scenario?

Also this would create a surge for about two seconds, as all the drivers turn their apps back on at the same time and the "supply" skyrockets.

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
my point is this should be the normal practice of drivers to keep surges in place more often. Sure Atlanta has surged, but with rates this low Atlanta should stay on a surge constantly. If u want to drive for 75cents a mile be my guest. I would bet your car and time are worth more than that. Too many drivers sitting around ready to drive for peanuts.