Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Premium Member
189 Posts
I agree with the first comment that I came upon at the bottom of the article. I highly disagree with the writer, however that is partly due because to the lack of details or clarity. I don’t really care where she went to school but I think it’s important what she received her degrees in. Like her I find myself doing gig work even though I have a bachelors in education and a masters in accounting. I taught for most of my life to this point however I also took two accounting/auditing positions after returning to the US from teaching abroad.

Sometimes I get the distinct impression that because people feel like they have degrees and letters behind their name they are above this type of work even if they are working in the gig economy. In other words they feel ashamed to have to stoop to this level. I do not. In fact I enjoy this work more than either of my other careers, however I did enjoy teaching quite a bit as well (The education/school bureaucracy was another thing).

I get the impression she is embarrassed or ashamed of this job partly in the fact that she gives up so easily. ( I read parts of the article but not the whole thing because it was just too long so take that into bearing. ). Has she never been mocked before? Has she never been laughed at or threatened? I have been in both the gig economy world and in the worlds of accounting and education. How does she expect upward mobility when she gives up at the first sight of battle (I cannot think of a better word at the moment than battle)?

Upward mobility is most definitely possible, if you are willing to, and want to, do what it takes and you set goals and follow through. Or, at the very least, upward mobility is much more realistic in this country when compared with every other country I have personally traveled to or lived in. Take South Korea for an example.