Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am very new to Uber (Sarasota), so excuse me for being a bit green and naive... I have made about 20 trips, all with 5-star ratings and I've received some great tips from those few fares. I work a Mon-Fri 9-5 job, so Uber was perfect for me to make a little extra money. The little that I did drive was on Tuesdays and Fridays from about 6-9. Basically, I was driving riders to the bars and restaurants for the late night drivers to pick up later. My first few weeks were great, then 4 weeks ago today I made $11 for driving all over The Key and taking a couple downtown to Mattison's (my most popular destination to date). Typically, when I leave my last destination, I keep the app on and drive toward my neighborhood (Gulf Gate) and usually get fares on my way there, and this keeps me out awhile as long as I keep accepting fares. That Friday night I dropped the couple downtown and made it all the way back to Gulf Gate without another ping (rare, even for my short time driving). That night I found this site and began reading all of the threads from drivers who had been driving for some time. From what I could see in those threads, the area had become extremely saturated with drivers. I skipped going online the following Tuesday, but all the while checking the app daily after work. It was that week that I noticed that there was not a single surge not even in the usual areas. I had also read a tip from a full-time driver who recommended checking the Uber rider app to see how many cars were on the road at any given time. The absence of surges, combined with seeing swarms of other drivers crowding every area eventually caused me to just stop driving altogether. Oh yeah, I would receive a surge alert every once in awhile early in the day or late at night, but when I clicked on it, it appeared that the surge had passed. I began to think that the alert texts were getting to me a bit too la