Uber Drivers Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sitting in my car waiting for a ping and bored to tears, I decided to have a good look at exactly what access Uber has to my phone. I may be slow on the uptake, but it is rather more than just the microphone, camera, and contacts.
The list includes the following; phone - directly call phone numbers. Read phone status and identity. Location. My personal information - read my contact card. My accounts - add or remove accounts, use accounts on the device. Storage - modify or delete the contents of my SD card. Camera - take pictures and videos. Network communication - full network access. My messages - read my text messages ( SMS or Mms) receive text messages (SMS) send SMS messages. My social information - read my contacts. System tools - modify system settings. Network communication - receive data from Internet, view network connections, view Wi- Fi connections. My accounts - finds accounts on the device, read Google configuration. And to top it off , Storage - read the contents of my SD card.

It seems to me, not being a technology wiz kid, to be rather excessive - in fact highly intrusive. It appears that they have full access and potential control to every part of my phone. Can anyone advise how to disable most of this "access" I can't see how to do it, as it is no where to do so, that I can find.

Correct me if I am wrong, but don't sign in to UP if you you have Uber open and if you have not signed out, if you value your privacy.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
511 Posts
It doesn't apply to Android phones only. Probably the iPhones have the similar permission settings as well. Just because you can't see them, it doesn't mean it's not there. They are well hidden.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
266 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Ok all you tech wiz kids, the challenge is on - is there any way that that one can limit their access to areas of our phones that they have no right to.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
I tried to update Uber app on the google play store this evening and,
this pop-up greeted me: See Pic 1:

What is the NEW: "Device & App History" in the Uber App v3.98.2 - Android Permissions,
does that allows the app to "Retrieve running applications", and what are those used for?

Does this means Uber can know Lyft, Didi, Ola, or Grab etc is running on our android devices?

Font Rectangle Screenshot Parallel Number


Font Rectangle Screenshot Parallel Number Font Screenshot Parallel Technology Number

Pic 1: Uber app v3.98.2 (Added permission: retrieve running applications)
Pic 2: Permission Groups (Automatically adds additional capabilities within each group)

This new Permission group also allows Uber app to view one or more of,
and automatically adds additional capabilities within each group):
  • information about activity on the device,
  • which apps are running,
  • browsing history, and
  • bookmarks.
Reference: The archived page of Uber Legal Privacy Page has officially removed the "information about platform permissions" link to Android Permissions.
 
1 - 13 of 13 Posts
Top