Uber Drivers Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So a bit of a 'bloggish' overview of my experience as an Ames Uber driver for anyone who cares. :p

I've been an Uber driver for 4 weeks now. My 'real' job is a nurse at the hospital in town, but we live in Jewell and my 15 y/o daughter takes dance classes 5 days/week in Ames for roughly 20 hours/week. It varies. Don't ask me how much this costs! haha.

Until this year, I would always bring her to town and then sit around to wait for her to finish. It doesn't make sense to drive home and come back. The Biolife Plasma Center is right next door to her dance studio, so I also donate plasma 2x/week. (Incidentally, the donation so far pays better and more instantly than Uber! Send me a private message if you're in the Ames area and want more information about that.) I've shifted my donation days to accommodate more Uber driving time to double up on the "extra money" efforts.

Now, during dance class, I turn my Uber app on when I drop her off to class and turn it off about 30 minutes before she's done. It's worked out just fine, and in spite of my worries and the stuff I read here, every college kid I've taken anywhere has been scrupulously polite. Some of them are quiet/keep to themselves while others are gregarous, but none have been rude or done any damage to my car in any way.

Though it should be noted that I'm done by 9:30 p.m. at the latest and so don't drive the 'drunk' shift.

Only about 1 in 8 tip me, but college kids are MORE likely to tip than the adult/business people I've driven.

I've read a lot of 'don't do this' advice on this forum, and some of the "don'ts" I've done anyway, just to see how it worked out for me. I'm sharing those experiences here:

1. Don't "wait" while they run into the store/whatever